The American football club headquartered in Tampa, Florida, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers compete in the National Football League (NFL). The Buccaneers are a member of the National Football Conference (NFC) South in the National Football League.

To compete alongside Seattle’s Seahawks, they became an expansion team in 1976. They spent their debut season as a member of the American Football Conference (AFC) West. Tampa Bay joined the NFC Central division in 1977 after switching leagues and divisions with Seattle.

Tampa Bay joined three former NFC West clubs in forming the NFC South after the league’s restructuring before the 2002 season. In Tampa, the team is owned by the Glazer family, and Raymond James Stadium serves as its home base of operations.

Number of Buccaneers NFL Championships

The Buccaneers and the Baltimore Ravens are the only two NFL teams with a perfect record in multiple Super Bowl appearances, each having won two titles. A 26-game losing streak in their first two seasons and 14 straight losing seasons from 1983 to 1996 earned them a reputation as a chronic loser for most of their first two decades.

It was in 1979 when Tampa Bay became the first post-merger expansion club to win the division title, advance to the playoffs, and host a conference championship. Despite a better public image after their 2002 title, which was the first for a franchise formed after the merger, the team wouldn’t win another postseason game until the 2020 season of their second Super Bowl championship.

Although they’ve won two Super Bowls, the Buccaneers have the lowest winning percentage in the NFL (.404). Both of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers’ appearances in the Super Bowl have ended in victories.