The Los Angeles Rams headed into the 2022 NFL season with high aspirations, aiming to build off a fantastic campaign that saw them win the Super Bowl at home. However, nothing has gone according to plan so far.

While quarterback Matthew Stafford struggled from the very beginning with his elbow, the team was struck by injuries throughout the season. Therefore, their record this year is not even close to that of the previous campaign.

On Sunday, the Rams suffered their eighth loss of the season, which is why their playoff hopes look practically over. Disappointing as it may seem, they would not be the first to miss the playoffs the year after they won the Super Bowl. These are some other teams.

New York Giants

The New York Giants had a big decision to make after their 1991 Super Bowl win, with Bill Parcells stepping away from head coaching. Of course, time proved they missed out on a fantastic head coach by promoting Ray Handley instead of Bill Belichick. The Giants missed the playoffs the next season with an 8-8 record.

The team experienced the same feeling two decades later, failing to qualify for the playoffs in the 2012 season just a year after beating the Patriots in the Super Bowl.

Denver Broncos

The retirement of John Elway after the 1999 Super Bowl victory certainly took a toll on the Broncos, who missed the playoffs the following season with a 6-10 record. History repeated itself in 2016, as Denver failed to overcome Peyton Manning’s retirement and missed the 2016-17 postseason after winning the Super Bowl in February.

New England Patriots

Adam Vinatieri’s clutch, 48-yard field goal against the Rams in Super Bowl XXXVI gave the Patriots their first Vince Lombardi trophy in February 2002. Only a season later, New England failed to make the playoffs by going 9-7.

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

After winning their first ever Super Bowl in 2003, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers missed the postseason the following year as they went 7-9.

Pittsburgh Steelers

The Pittsburgh Steelers have experienced the Super Bowl hangover twice in recent years. After winning the Vince Lombardi against all odds in 2006, the Steelers went 8-8 in their next season and missed the playoffs. Something similar happened in the 2009 season, as their 9-7 record wasn’t enough to try and challenge for back-to-back championships.

Baltimore Ravens

The Ravens were unable to repeat their success from the 2012-13 season, going 8-8 in the year after they won Super Bowl XLVII.