The Kansas City Chiefs represent Kansas City, Missouri, and compete in the National Football League. They play in the American Football Conference (AFC) West division of the league.

Formerly known as the Dallas Texans, this franchise has been around since 1959 because of the efforts of billionaire Lamar Hunt. The team changed their name and location to the present-day Kansas City Chiefs in the spring of 1963. The Chiefs have been a part of the NFL since its 1970 merger, and its current market worth is approximately $3.7 billion.

While they started out well early in the playoffs in their history, by winning five of their first six games, the club would then fail to repeat that success, losing 10 of eleven playoff games between 1993 and 2017, including a skid of eight straight defeats. In the years thereafter, Andy Reid and Patrick Mahomes have led the Chiefs to prominence.

Number of Chiefs NFL Championships

The Chiefs have been crowned champions of the NFL’s highest honor three times so far. They have triumphed in Super Bowls IV (1969), LIV (2020), and LVII (2003). (2023).

In 1966, the first Super Bowl was played, and the Kansas City Chiefs participated., but they finally broke through in Super Bowl IV in 1970. It was a game versus the Minnesota Vikings that ultimately decided who would win the Super Bowl.

It took another half-century for them to return to the Super Bowl. In 2020, the Chiefs played in the Super Bowl against the San Francisco 49ers for the first time in their history. The Chiefs overcame the 49ers and won their second Super Bowl under the direction of game MVP Patrick Mahomes.

One year later, the Chiefs were back in the Super Bowl, but this time they were defeated by Tom Brady and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 31-9. While Mahomes had a less-than-stellar season the year before, he led the Chiefs to a remarkable comeback in 2022-23, which culminated in a Super Bowl win against the Philadelphia Eagles and an MVP award for Mahomes.